The key facts about Darwin

Darwin is a postgraduate College: the majority of our students are reading for Masters or PhD degrees. Darwin provides an international community in which graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, senior visitors, and College Fellows can interact with colleagues across a broad spectrum of research interests.

Darwin admits both men and women, studying the full range of academic disciplines. It has around 50 Professorial and Official Fellows, including a Master (the Head of House elected by the Fellows), most of whom are University Teaching Officers in their subjects. There are also about 20 Research Fellows, both stipendiary and non-stipendiary.

The College has almost 800 students, approximately 70% of whom come from outside the UK. Roughly 75 nationalities are currently represented among the student body. The Darwin community also includes Associate Members, who are usually academic visitors from abroad, and Research Associates working in the different Departments of the University.

Darwin College is committed to providing an environment which respects the needs of all its members. No member of Darwin shall be discriminated against with regard to national origin, physical disability, race, religion, creed, gender or sexual orientation.

Darwin is legally constituted under a Royal Charter and governed by its Statutes and Ordinances.

↑ Top of the page